Georgia Straight

December 10, 2011

Last Tuesday evening Tara and I were interviewed about Harmless Innovations by Stephen Hui, The Georgia Straight’s web editor and technology editor (who also happens to be vegan and is often the first to report on vegan happenings around Vancouver).

The interview was published online Wednesday, and definitely got Tara and I quite excited. There were reports of an inability to stop beaming coming from us both.

V-Gun

It also got our creative juices flowing, and for myself reminded me of some things I want to create and sell that I had misplaced in my memory. One of them being vegan dog and cat toys, free of leather, feathers, fur (sometimes even from cats and dogs!) and who even knows what else ‘they’ come up with as a money-making scheme at the expense of animals.

It looks like we’re going to be at another craft fair next weekend put on by Occupy Vancouver (called Occupy Santa), and we’ve put together a menu of delicious options that can be bundled together in a basket for holiday gift giving that Tara posted in our new online store.

We’ll be making festive rounds on December 22nd and 23rd, either to people’s homes or businesses, and you can decide for yourself if you would like the order delivered to you, or your recipient directly. (That’s not to say that you can’t be your own recipient, because you surely can!) For an extra $5 on top of your edible order you get a basket, delivery, and a carol sung by Tara and myself.

Eco-friendly, animal-friendly, and Vancouver's own and only vegan shoe store!

In the meantime, tomorrow I’ll be taking in some holiday festivities at Nice Shoes, who are teaming up with the waiting-patiently-to-open Fairy Cakes cupcakery with a holiday cupcake and soy nog event. I’ve invited another journalism student to come with, and after we’re meeting with a friend of mine who goes to Langara part-time to discuss starting up a student veg group in the new year.

Should be a good day! (Now, if only I could motivate myself to finish those outstanding assignments that are holding me back from really getting into the holiday spirit, all my days would be even better!)

Leave a Reply

