What’s Goin’ On

December 28, 2011

Christmas was good – and humorous.

Got a shiny new laptop (which I’m typing on now – huzzah!), a dorky hat, and have eaten waaaaay too many sweets in the last week. (Telling Tara to make extra donuts was a bit of a mistake…)

The Christmas tree my Dad and brother liberated from the back woods of my parents’ cabin kept making me think ‘Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown.’ Now, this wasn’t because it was scraggly or anything, but I think just more because I’ve never had a real Christmas tree before. Well, and it did keep falling over. Enter humor.

Shortly after putting all the presents under the tree Christmas Eve, said tree decided to topple for the first of several post mortem suicide (oxymoron? or just impossible…) attempts, dousing the gifts below.

So the table became the new tree.

Santa didn’t seem to have a problem finding it.

Cut to the next afternoon, around 2pm with Mom taking her first try at the Wii, and everyone else (Dad, brother, brother’s friend) on a laptop or cell phone, and turkey (not mine, obviously) roasting in the oven.

Suddenly the power started surging, and took its sweet time deciding (teasing us, really) whether or not it would go out for a good 30 seconds of on off action before extinguishing.

And so it stayed, leaving my Tofurky to wait until yesterday for roasting, and my Christmas belly rather hungry since raw tofu isn’t really a dish I subscribe to.

In other news, have I ever told you how much I love Jeremy Fisher?

If you watch this (or any of his videos, really), I’m sure you’ll see why:

Leave a Reply

