Reduced to a Whisper

January 2, 2012

Alright, I’m starting to get impatient here. I haven’t been able to talk properly since New Year’s Eve, when I did a bit too much yelling over music, and combined it with alcohol and being sick (my throat was already sore beforehand).

I can only really whisper now, and even that is somewhat taxing.

I’m feeling kind of trapped inside, and I’ve got…bedroom fever, I guess (since that’s where I’ve spent the majority of the last two days, trying to while away the hours).

Even listening to music is a rough experience, as I just want to be singing along. But alas, I can’t.

I can’t help but notice that this is likely a sign or lesson from the Universe, especially because it’s the turning of a new year, and all the resolving and renewal practices that most pour themselves into (or at least commit themselves to) associated with this time of year.

Perhaps this is a lesson in patience, or to appreciate what I have (a voice) and exercise my right to use it more often (for myself and in the name of injustice), and take better care of myself. Or maybe it’s just a lesson that I should listen more and talk less. It’s probably all of those things and more.

I guess I’ve essentially been self-sentenced to a silent retreat, left mostly to my thoughts – and my keyboard.

I haven’t formulated all of my new year’s resolutions just yet (more like goals or plans), but they are forthcoming. I’m still wrapping my mind around yet another year gone already, so I might need another week or so.

Leave a Reply

