The Sweetest Good Night

June 17, 2015

Time is moving so quickly,
Passing me by so swiftly.
It’ll all be over soon anyway,
So what difference does it make if I leave today?
I’ve lived enough life.
Been bruised, battered and chewed up by strife.
30 years really is a long time.
I think I can see enough from this vantage point
To know it’s not getting any better,
That this isn’t some storm I can just weather.
This is my life: A soul steeped in sadness,
Aching with loneliness, self-hatred and madness.
I’ve always been too scared to jump from up high,
Too afraid of failure and ridicule to pull the trigger on life,
But I think i this may be it –
The chance to really take charge of my life.

Leave a Reply

